When is the best time to rewrite?

20150405_142022_resized

A recent comment on another website (ShaulaEvans.com – seriously, go and sign up now if you haven’t already) got me thinking about rewriting and when is a good time to start rewriting a script?

Many gurus (and some of the PIXAR rules we will come to) allude to the best approach being to write your first draft and then let it lie and gestate while you work on something else. The reasoning behind this is that, after working on something so closely for so long and intensely, you are going to be struggling with script-blindness –  you won’t be able to see the wood for the trees because you are so invested in that piece of work. You will not be able to be objective when reviewing scenes, characters and dialogue that you have just written and fallen in love with.

A couple of weeks after leaving your script, you can come back to it with a fresh pair of eyes. The theory is that it will be like reading it afresh, allowing more objectivity and ruthlessness when considering scenes, characters and dialogue that could be changed or even cut.

There is no denying that, for me, this works. Coming back to a script with fresh eyes after working on it for weeks, even months can give me a very different view on my work. This enables me to work on it more effectively when deciding the best way to rewrite. However, I also find myself itching to get back into a script as soon as I have written it. As I write the first draft, I try to get it all down as quickly as I can. If I’ve done my research and have a clear treatment, then I can usually get it written rapidly. During this process I will pick up on new ideas that could feed into the script and improve it and make notes for later revisions. Once I finish the first draft, I like to dive back in to make some of those changes on a quick read through. I then leave it for a while, ready to come back for a full-on rewrite.

A rapid return helps me identify immediate “problems” and tweak the first draft, while waiting lets me deal with tougher issues with a fresh pair of eyes.

So, should YOU rewrite immediately or should you leave your screenplay alone for a while so you can come back to it with fresh eyes?

Well, like all screenwriting rules, this is up to you. Each approach, for me, has a different purpose and effect. It really is about finding out what works for you. Just because you’ve heard you SHOULD leave it, doesn’t mean you have to. But if you never have, why not try leaving your next one and seeing if that helps/hinders your process?

Like always, experimentation is key. Try different approaches and use the bits that work for you. Don’t discount something just because you are told to or have never tried it.

Do you rewrite immediately or do you leave your screenplay for a while before you review it?

Whatever you do, how does it help you rewrite effectively?

Feel free to comment below!

Posted on April 5, 2015, in rewriting, Writing, Writing Rules and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My favorite time to rewrite is to either wait a bit for a fresh perspective or to rewrite after getting some constructive criticism. Sometimes time constraints prevent that though. It’s hard to say if it is more effective than simply doing another rewrite immediately. One one hand, I’ll have forgotten the characters and their motivations after a long wait. On the other hand, I’ll have fresh eyes and might see something I missed. Usually I just run out of free time and have to set it aside and work on other things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry David, your reply seemed to get stuck in the spam filter for some reason! But I do tend to agree – different projects at different times calls for different approaches. The key really is finding out what works for you, whether that be a particular way of tackling rewrites, or a combination of several. Just don’t stick to one way because you have been told that is THE way to do things.

      Like

  2. I tend to agree with you. Word blindness like anything original can have the same effect usually when you are too close to your invention/writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fiona Faith Ross

Author Blog

Dead Letters

El blog de la serie de TV para teatro

atwhatpriceliberty

learning the freedom to do anything...in VFX & animation

Sabina Giado

Muslim. Mom. Filmmaker. Hopeless romantic.

The Novice Screenwriter

A friendly blog and resource for writers, screenwriters and wannabes young and old

Mumblings & Musings of a Rookie Screenwriter

...you might want to avert your eyes.

Barataria - The work of Erik Hare

I don't break news, I fix it.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

theuniverseity.wordpress.com/

educational astronomy articles and videos

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Above the clouds

My adventures with amateur astronomy

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Pancakes

are like screenplays. The first one is usually a mess.

