Leo Triplet – 11th April 2015

Picture saved with settings applied.

After what feels like months of cloud and just the wrong timing, I managed to get out with the telescope at the weekend and had a go at a new target, the Leo Triplet of Galaxies, also known as the M66 group. It comprises of M66 (top right), M65 (bottom right) and NGC 3628 (left) and is found just under the back end of the Leo constellation.

I took a series of 60 second shots at ISO 1600 with 20 each of the Darks/Bias/Flats calibration shots required and stacked a total of 49 images. I scrapped a few due to star trailing and then a few more were discarded by Deep Sky Stacker during the stacking process.

To be honest, I have over processed the image a little to try and get as much detail out of it as, I have to say, I am amazed I got anything. This is probably the most distant shot I have tried to date. The Triplet is about 35 million light years away. In my other photos, Andromeda is about 2.5m, Bodes and the Cigar Galaxy around 11m – Orion is about 1,300 light years away – s0 practically next door!

35 million light years… that is a hell of a lot of distance for the light to travel from these 3 galaxies onto a square inch camera sensor on my driveway. The mind boggles – well mine does anyway.  1 light year is 9,461,000,000,000 km…..so just multiply that by 35,000,000 and you have an idea of just how far – I checked the wonders of the internet and it is something like:

3.311 x 100,000,000,000,000,000,000 kilometres.

I am looking forward to when I can upgrade some of the equipment and move onto guiding shots and increasing the length of exposure. I should be able to get a lot more detail then.

In the meantime, I’m still pretty chuffed that I managed to locate these three!

Posted on April 14, 2015, in Astronomy, Astrophotography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Dead Letters

El blog de la serie de TV para teatro

atwhatpriceliberty

learning the freedom to do anything...in VFX & animation

Sabina Giado

Muslim. Mom. Writer. Geek. Hopeless romantic.

The Novice Screenwriter

A friendly blog and resource for writers, screenwriters and wannabes young and old

Mumblings & Musings of a Rookie Screenwriter

...you might want to avert your eyes.

Barataria - The work of Erik Hare

I don't break news, I fix it.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

theuniverseity.wordpress.com/

educational astronomy articles and videos

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Above the clouds

My adventures with amateur astronomy

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Pancakes

are like screenplays. The first one is usually a mess.

Never Get Off The Bus

a blog about screenwriting, film, and story

