Try, Try and Try again!

Cross_Spider_(Araneus_diadematus)_-_European_Garden_Spider_in_Web_-_geograph.org.uk_-_665926

I’ve been in a funny place with writing recently. I am sure we all go through those same spells; self-doubt creeps in and we struggle to put words on the page. Everything conspires to make us think we can’t do this. It may be worse for those of us who are unable to write full time (yet) and, if we are struggling with Finding Time to Write, things can get tough.

That’s not to say I am complaining. Writing IS hard and that is partly why we do it; the challenge, but that can sometimes be overwhelming.

Over the last week or two I have been in self-doubt mode, not sure where I am going with a story that I am prepping and occasionally wondering if I can make all this work. I have been struggling to figure the story out and make progress.

Then the spider siege began.

Three times this weekend I have “evicted” a large and menacing looking house spider from our home – through the front door. Now, I don’t particularly have a problem with spiders but, as anyone following me on Twitter will know, we have had a bit of a problem with the slightly worrying “False-Widows” that are showing up more and more often in English homes. Actually they have been here for years, but people are becoming more aware. They aren’t killers, but they can give a nasty nip – something that us English folk are fairly new to – most of the creepy crawlies in this country are pretty harmless. So, anyway, we’ve been removing spiders to keep the kids from freaking out.

The one I am in a battle of wits with is just a common house spider – but it is a BIG one. As I said, it’s been evicted three times since Friday… and it keeps coming back. The second time I am pretty sure it was waiting for me, as it dropped on me from the curtain rail as we came in from a day out.

Once I had finished convincing myself it wasn’t personal, out he went again.

But, that night, he reappeared on the same curtains, just hanging there, watching and waiting. I suspect if I had looked closely, four of his eight eyes would probably have closed, knowingly, as his head tipped in my direction.

I know, I know, you’re all saying, “…how do you know it is the same spider?” Well I don’t. Not for sure… but there was something about it that made me think it was – and I’m writing this, so get to play with creative license!

Anyway, where am I going with this?

Don’t give up.

That’s the message. Even when you think you are the worst writer in the world and there is nothing you can put on paper that is any good – Don’t give up! Keep going and you’ll get through it. And if you don’t, you’ll never know how good you can be. The only thing about writing that you’ll regret, is not sticking at it.

Like King Bruce and the Spider, a favourite story from school when I was a kid. Be that spider and go for it!

Try, Try and Try again.

I may have been stuck a few days ago, but thrashing stuff out and trying different things always gets me somewhere. And this time was no exception. A breakthrough in the story! It may not be something that makes it into the final screenplay, but it helped me progress with it for now – it got me past the block. All part of the ups and downs of writing.

So I was stuck, but now I’m not! And the same goes for you.

Keep at it, even when you are struggling. As Scott Myers over at Go into the Story has been heard to say, “…the only way out, is through…,”

I know you can do it!

Related Discussion

Posted on May 26, 2015, in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hah! I’m in a pretty similar place myself, rewriting the beginning of my script again and again, so this entry is timely. I really like that you make the spider the hero of the story. He won’t give up!

    Like

    • And he isn’t – found him back in the house again yesterday – but this time he had made it to the first floor, so stairs are clearly not an issue! 😉 And that’s the thing isn’t it – no matter how hard things get, or how useless you feel, you are the only one who can get yourself out of that place. You just have to keep trying. Just like the spider… only with fewer legs.

      Good luck with the rewrites Angel!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Dead Letters

El blog de la serie de TV para teatro

atwhatpriceliberty

learning the freedom to do anything...in VFX & animation

Sabina Giado

Muslim. Mom. Writer. Geek. Hopeless romantic.

The Novice Screenwriter

A friendly blog and resource for writers, screenwriters and wannabes young and old

Mumblings & Musings of a Rookie Screenwriter

...you might want to avert your eyes.

Barataria - The work of Erik Hare

I don't break news, I fix it.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

theuniverseity.wordpress.com/

educational astronomy articles and videos

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Above the clouds

My adventures with amateur astronomy

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Pancakes

are like screenplays. The first one is usually a mess.

Never Get Off The Bus

a blog about screenwriting, film, and story

