Am I a Screenwriter?

This is a question I’ve asked myself a few times when starting out as a writer. It is also, periodically, raised online in a forum somewhere: Can I call myself a screenwriter if I am not getting paid for my work?

Well, the short answer is yes. Of course you can… I do.

In fact, you can call yourself whatever the hell you like to be honest. Perhaps you can’t claim to be a professional if you aren’t making money, but there is no reason why, if you are writing screenplays, that you can’t identify yourself as a screenwriter.

My eldest daughter didn’t get paid to make the film embedded above, but I am going to call her a film-maker! Why not? It’s a film and she made it.

Now, obviously this post is mainly a pretty lame way to simply post something my daughter made as the proud father. But it IS also a quick reminder not to get too hung up on labels and names. If you write, you write… you can call yourself a writer. But don’t stress if other people don’t agree, just get on and write… do the thing you enjoy and do it to the best of your ability.

I write/direct/paint/produce, therefore I am.

Okay, okay, I admit it, this isn’t THAT serious a post, I just wanted to share my daughter’s efforts… but where else can you see a Sylvanian Family Rabbit baby with a tea-cosy on it’s head? Hollywood is in need of some fresh ideas afterall…

Posted on August 22, 2015, in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Dead Letters

El blog de la serie de TV para teatro

atwhatpriceliberty

learning the freedom to do anything...in VFX & animation

Sabina Giado

Muslim. Mom. Writer. Geek. Hopeless romantic.

The Novice Screenwriter

A friendly blog and resource for writers, screenwriters and wannabes young and old

Mumblings & Musings of a Rookie Screenwriter

...you might want to avert your eyes.

Barataria - The work of Erik Hare

I don't break news, I fix it.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

theuniverseity.wordpress.com/

educational astronomy articles and videos

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Above the clouds

My adventures with amateur astronomy

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Pancakes

are like screenplays. The first one is usually a mess.

Never Get Off The Bus

a blog about screenwriting, film, and story

