The Ultimate Writing Game?

download

We all like writing games, don’t we? Games and exercises to test our writing chops and help us learn about ourselves and our writing. Whether writing in a different form, trying a new style, rewriting existing works or adding a new slant on an old theme anything can be a writing game as long as it challenges you to be a better writer. And what better challenge to a writer than taking part in something like NaNoWriMo – or National Novel Writing Month – in case you were wondering. One month to write a 50,000 word novel, and a safe environment to do it in.

I’ve thought about it a couple of times over the last two years, but this year decided to give it a whirl and test myself. I have never even planned a novel, let alone written one, so I think it will be a great opportunity to flex my writing muscles, challenge myself and, hopefully, learn a little about my approach to writing along the way.

So, for the remainder of the month I am going to be putting the finishing touches to an outline for a novel and, from 1st November, will join the other NaNoWriMo’ers and give it my best shot at writing a novel. As I have never done this before I suspect it will be hard work but, at the very worst, I can only hope to come out the other end as a better writer. I may even end up with a half-decent novel that I could adapt into a screenplay. I may even blog about it from time to time to update my progress.

Is anyone else taking part in NaNoWriMo in 2015? If you are let me know how you get on, or pop up and say Hi! on the website. Even if you are not taking part this year, but have in the past, it would be great to hear how you got on!

Feel free to comment below and, if you are taking part, good luck and keep writing!

Posted on October 7, 2015, in Writing, writing exercises and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Dead Letters

El blog de la serie de TV para teatro

atwhatpriceliberty

learning the freedom to do anything...in VFX & animation

Sabina Giado

Muslim. Mom. Writer. Geek. Hopeless romantic.

The Novice Screenwriter

A friendly blog and resource for writers, screenwriters and wannabes young and old

Mumblings & Musings of a Rookie Screenwriter

...you might want to avert your eyes.

Barataria - The work of Erik Hare

I don't break news, I fix it.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

theuniverseity.wordpress.com/

educational astronomy articles and videos

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Above the clouds

My adventures with amateur astronomy

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Pancakes

are like screenplays. The first one is usually a mess.

Never Get Off The Bus

a blog about screenwriting, film, and story

