The Moon

IMG_6566fs

It has been a while since I posted anything about astrophotography, simply because it has been a while since I have been able to do anything. The terrible weather has been a big contributing factor, not helped the last time I did get out by my own haste and failing to set everything up correctly – so that I ended up coming in empty-handed, although those hands were very cold. All this means I have only been out a couple of times in the last few months.

The forecast was good for Thursday night, so I planned to get out no matter what. Well, actually, there was the small issue of the Moon. Not quite full at this point, but big enough and bright enough to be a real pain for imaging any deep sky objects like galaxies and nebula with a DSLR.

But I wanted to do something. So I had a look at the Moon for the first time in ages and remembered just how interesting it is… and how little I really know it. That was when I thought it was about time I had a go at imaging the moon in more detail using my guide camera, which also doubles up as a handy planetary camera. I just haven’t got around to that yet, largely because it was something new, and it was easier not to try it, than try.

Actually, as it turns out, it is easier to set up for planetary imaging than DSOs, so I was up and running with a quick polar alignment and stuck to manual slewing, with Lunar tracking rates. I stuck the ZWO camera in the ED80 and away I went.

The images start as video captures of the target. 10,000 frames for each video, processed in PIPP to assess the quality of the frames and keep the best 25. Those remaining frames were analysed and stacked in AUTOSTAKKERT2 before I finished up the processing in REGISTAX to play around with the wavelets – effectively sharpening the image. A final tweak in Photoshop and the images were finished.

The general seeing wasn’t great, so it was hard to get accurate focus and the atmospherics make the target “wobble” – looking like something seen through a heat-haze. The purpose of taking a video is to capture thousands of frames in a short-space of time, hopefully ending up with a usable number of shots where the target comes into focus.

I also had a quick go at Jupiter. Unfortunately, as it was lower in the sky, I was shooting through a thicker cross-section of atmosphere, so the issues with seeing were worse. However, I got a better outcome than my first effort which you can see in the gallery, and the detail is getting better, with the Great Red Spot clearly visible. I shall look forward to having another go when Jupiter is in a more favourable position. Oh, and just before anyone asks, the ZWO Camera is a MONO camera, which is why the GRS is not red!

Anyway, I hope you like the images and, if you have any question about how I took them and finished them, let me know. I am very new to planetary, so I’m just figuring this out myself.

[And anyone who knows about my other interests, will probably be able to guess why Tycho was one of my first targets….]

Tycho Crater

Tycho Crater

Tycho Crater 2

Tycho Crater 2

Unknown Crater

Unknown Crater

Mare Imbrium/Plato Crater

Mare Imbrium/Plato Crater

Copernicus Crater

Copernicus Crater

Copernicus Zoom

Copernicus Zoom

Jupiter with GRS

Jupiter with GRS

Posted on February 21, 2016, in Astronomy, Astrophotography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The amount of detail in the pictures is amazing compared with the standard view of the moon we normally see. It could be interesting to look at a crater in even more detail is possible

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhh, a request! 🙂

    Cheers, Roger.

    Actually I want to try that now I know what I am doing. The “zoom” image was with a 2x Barlow in the imaging-train. I do have a 5x Barlow that I will have a go with next time. Then the real challenge will be to produce a mosaic of the moon from a series of images… although that might take a bit more time!

    Like

  3. This is about what my images look like. Nice catches!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fiona Faith Ross

Author Blog

Dead Letters

El blog de la serie de TV para teatro

atwhatpriceliberty

learning the freedom to do anything...in VFX & animation

Sabina Giado

Muslim. Mom. Filmmaker. Hopeless romantic.

The Novice Screenwriter

A friendly blog and resource for writers, screenwriters and wannabes young and old

Mumblings & Musings of a Rookie Screenwriter

...you might want to avert your eyes.

Barataria - The work of Erik Hare

I don't break news, I fix it.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

theuniverseity.wordpress.com/

educational astronomy articles and videos

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Above the clouds

My adventures with amateur astronomy

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Pancakes

are like screenplays. The first one is usually a mess.

